Goals and Videos
Media Channel
South Africa names CHAN squad
South Africa names CHAN squad
Hosts South Africa have named a relatively strong 23-man squad for next year’s Orange African Nations Championship (CHAN).

Head coach Gordon Igesund’s final team for the tournament was without players from Orange CAF Champions League losing finalists, Orlando Pirates, Ajax Cape Town and Amazulu due to fixture congestions in the South African Premier Soccer League.

However, the Bafana Bafana trainer has national captain Itumeleng Khune to rely on as well as midfielder Siphiwe Tshabalala and Bernard Parker, all part of his squad for the Orange Africa Cup of Nations held earlier in the year in South Africa.

According to the South Africa Football Association (SAFA), the team will assemble for camp on January 2, 2014 in Cape Town for preparations.

The hosts are housed in Group A with Mali, Mozambique and Nigeria for the 11 January to 1 February, 2014 tournament.

This is the second time South Africa will be making an appearance at the CHAN tournament after the 2011 edition in Sudan, where they were eliminated at the knockout stages.

Full squad
Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Moeneeb Josephs (Bidvest Wits), Siyabonga Mpontshane (Platinum Stars)

Defenders: Thabo Nthete (Bloemfontein Celti), Tshepo Gumede (Platinum Stars), Tefo Mashamaite (Kaizer Chiefs), Buhle Mkhwanazi (Tuks), Kwanda Mngonyama (Bidvest Wits), Vuyo Simple (Platinum Stars), Bryce Moon (Mamelodi Sundowns), Tsepo Masilela (Kaizer Chiefs), Tebogo Langerman (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Ryan Chapman (Bidvest Wits), Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns), Jabulani Shongwe (Mamelodi Sundowns), Asavela Mbekile (Moroka Swallows), Sibusiso Vilakazi (Bidvest Wits), Lerato Chabangu (Moroka Swallows), Lindokuhle Mbatha (Platinum Stars), Siphiwe Tshabalala (Kaizer Chiefs)

Katlego Mashego (Mamelodi Sundowns), Bernard Parker (Kaizer Chiefs), Edward Manqele (Moroka Swalloows)

Powered by Sorecson : Creation de site internet
Credits  |  Contact us