AS Tanda makes history in Cote d’Ivoire

AS Tanda makes history in Cote d’Ivoire
17 August 2015 12:16

After Onze Frères de Bassam (1960, 1961), SC Gagnoa (1976) and Sewe Sports (2012, 2013, 2014), AS Tanda becomes the fourth club from outside the capital to win the Ivorian League.


In the ultimate match of the season on Sunday, AS Tanda beat CO Korhogo 2-1 to cruise to the title at their favourite Ali Timite Stadium in Bondoukou, located in the northeastern part of the West African country.


The visitors went up after 15 minutes through Issa Sanogo before N’Guessan Bi N’Guessan leveled before the break and Samassi Ibrahim snatched the winner midway into the second half to send the stadium agog.


Tanda finished the 14-club league on 51 points, just a point more than ASEC Mimosas, which managed a lone goal victory over SC Gagnoa away. ASEC, record 24-time champions has failed to win the league crown since 2010.


The newly crowned champions will represent Cote d’Ivoire in next year’s CAF Champions League alongside runner-up, ASEC.


Meanwhile, three-time champions, Stella Club (1979, 1981, 1984) have been relegated to the second-tier league together with Bouake FC. They will be replaced by AS Moossou and FC Yopougon next season in the top flight.