CAF is the governing body of African Football and was founded in 1957. The founding members are Egypt, Sudan, Ethiopia and South Africa. With a membership of 54 Member Associations, the secretariat is based Egypt...


The wheels that led to the birth of CAF were actually set in motion outside Africa, in Lisbon Portugal in June 1956.


The Portuguese capital was playing host to the FIFA Congress, and it was the for African nations in attendance (Egypt, Sudan, Ethiopia and south Africa) who carried the African confederation to the baptismal font by taking advantage of that gathering to discuss matters of common interest.


Following the Congress, the four nations resolved to convene again in Khartoum in February 1957 to draft statutes and to discuss staging the first Africa Cup of nations.


Meanwhile, the 1954 FIFA Congress in Berne, Switzerland has already voted to recognize Africa as a confederation. This gave the continent the right to appoint its first representative to the FIFA Executive Committee and the member was Engineer Abdelaziz Abdallah Salem of Egypt.


CAF’s constitutional act was signed in Khartoum, Sudan on 8 June 1957 and Abdallah Salem was named the Confederation’s first president.


On 10 February, after CAF’s constitutive assembly, the Sudanese capital witnessed the birth of the first Africa Cup of Nations which was won by Egypt. It would prove to be the start of an exhilarating adventure and one that is still continuing today with countless unforgettable moments along the way to help define the characteristics and traits on associated with African football.