The CAF Champions League, formerly known as the African Club Champions Cup, was started in 1964, and was played by teams that ended up as winners of the championships of member associations.


The present structure of the championship, having a direct eliminatory phase coupled with a group phase was started in 1997. In 2004, CAF increased the representation of some countries in this competition by allowing the first 12 countries on its annual classification, set up on the basis of the performance of clubs at interclub competitions, to have two representatives. In principle, the first and second teams in the final classification of their national championships.


The first phase of the competition, wish is divided in rounds is based on a direct elimination system, which is played in away and return leg matches. The winners of the last round of this phase qualify for the second phase, which is based on a pool system; given that the losers a sent over to the CAF Confederations Cup.

The eight teams that qualify for the pools phase are divided through draws into 2 pools of four, and they confront each other in each pool in away and return leg matches. The first two teams from each pool qualify for crossed semi-finals (1st A vs 2nd B and 1st B vs 2nd A) before the final, from where the winner shall be known and will represent Africa at the FIFA Clubs World Cup.