The CAF Champions League, formerly known as the African Champions’ Cup, was introduced in 1964 and it is contested for by league champions of member national associations.
CAF introduced the away goals rule in 1974 competitions and a Champions League format in 1997. 
In 2004, the competition was expanded by CAF allowing 12 of the participating countries to present two clubs, which are the first and second in their national leagues. The 12 countries are determined yearly according to a ranking system devised by CAF.
The first part of the competition which is divided into rounds is a knockout stage played on home and away basis. Winners of the last round of this part qualify to play in the second part, which is the group stage; while the losers compete in the last round of CAF Confederation Cup. 
The group stage is composed of 8 teams divided into 2 groups of 4 and playe against each other in a round-robin home and away system.  
The top two from each group qualify for the semifinals before the final where a winner emerges to win a trophy and prize money.