AWC (African Women’s Championship)

The African Women’s Championship was introduced by CAF in 1998.  CAF made it a biennial championship held every even-numbered year. It also serves as a qualifying tournament for the Women’s World Cup.


The final tournament is composed of 8 teams divided into 2 groups of 4. The top two in each group qualify for the semi-finals before the final.