CAN 2015, 2017 bid applications closed
The Confederation of African Football (CAF) announces the closure of the application of bids for the hosting rights for the 2015 and 2017 Orange Africa Cup of Nations.
The deadline for the submission of applications of the two tournaments was Friday, September 30, 2010 at midnight;
The CAF Administration has registered the following three (3) applications from its Member Associations: RD Congo, Morocco and South Africa.
The hosting rights for the 30th and 31st editions of the continent’s showpiece football event will be determined by the CAF Executive Committee at a meeting to be decided at a later date in 2011.
Gabon and Equatorial Guinea will jointly host the 2012 edition and Libya in 2013.
Sudan hosted the first edition of the Africa Cup of Nations in 1957 and 15 others have since hosted the biggest African football event.
Egypt have hosted 4-times (1959, 1974, 1986, 2006), Ghana also four times (1963, 1978,
2000[co-host with Nigeria), 2008), with Ethiopia and Tunisia each three times in (1962, 1968, 1976) and (1965, 1994 and 2004) respectively.
Sudan has hosted twice (1957, 1970) just as Nigeria (1980, 2000 [co-host with Ghana]).
Ten (10) countries namely; Algeria (1990), Burkina Faso (1998), Cameroon (1972), Libya (1982), Cote d’Ivoire (1984), Mali (2002), Morocco (1988), Senegal (1992), South Africa (1996) and Angola (2010) have all hosted once.
Powered by Sorecson : Creation de site internet
Credits  |  Contact us