DR Congo withdraws CAN 2015, 2017 bid

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) announces the withdrawal of DR Congo from the bidding processes for the 2015 and 2017 Orange Africa Cup of Nations.

The DR Congo communicated their withdrawal in the race for the hosting rights of the two tournaments through a correspondence to the CAF.

Morocco and South Africa remain as the contenders for the rights to stage the 30th and 31st editions of the continent’s showpiece soccer event.

The Executive Committee of CAF will meet in the last week-end of January 2011 to announce the winners of the respective editions.

The three countries had submitted their applications prior to the September 30, 2010 deadline.

The hosting rights for the 30th and 31st editions of the continent’s showpiece football event will be determined by the CAF Executive Committee at a meeting to be decided at a later date in 2011.

Gabon and Equatorial Guinea will jointly host the 2012 edition and Libya in 2013.

Sudan hosted the first edition of the Africa Cup of Nations in 1957 and 15 others have since hosted the biggest African football event.

Egypt have hosted 4-times (1959, 1974, 1986, 2006), Ghana also four times (1963, 1978, 2000[co-host with Nigeria), 2008), with Ethiopia and Tunisia each three times in (1962, 1968, 1976) and (1965, 1994 and 2004) respectively.

Sudan has hosted twice (1957, 1970) just as Nigeria (1980, 2000 [co-host with Ghana]).

Ten (10) countries namely; Algeria (1990), Burkina Faso (1998), Cameroon (1972), Libya (1982), Cote d’Ivoire (1984), Mali (2002), Morocco (1988), Senegal (1992), South Africa (1996) and Angola (2010) have all hosted once.

Powered by Sorecson : Creation de site internet
Credits  |  Contact us