Qualifiers recap for the TotalEnergies CAF Women's Champions League 2021 


The qualifiers for the first edition of the CAF TotalEnergies Women's Champions League better known under the tag #TotalEnergiesCAFWCL were concluded, and the identity of the eight participating teams has been revealed.

The final tournament, which will take place from November 5 to 19 in Cairo, Egypt, is of an exceptional character as it is the first tournament to be extended to all Africa and pitting women's football clubs against each other.

Faithful to its strategy which aims to develop more competitions for women and offer them greater opportunities, CAF has decided to launch this first edition in a format of two groups of four teams. The first two of each group will advance to the semi-finals in which the winners will contest the final.

After intense tournaments and sensational matches that brought joy and disappointment, CAFOnline.com looks back at the winners and qualifiers participants as well as the prizes awarded in each zone.

UNAF will have two representatives including Egyptian club Wadi Degla FC, which automatically qualified for the final tournament as host club.

Melinda Kgadiete of Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies celebrates goal with teammates during the 2021 Total Energies CAF Womens Champions League COSAFA Qualifier semifinal1 match between Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies and Green

COSAFA (August 26 to September 4 in Durban, South Africa)

Winner: Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies FC is a South African club founded in 2009. They are three-time winners of the South African Women's League.


7 Participants: Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa), Double Action Ladies (Botswana), Wanderers LFC (Eswatini), Lesotho Defense Force (Lesotho), Black Rhinos Queens (Zimbabwe), Green Buffaloes Women FC (Zambia), TURA Magic FC (Namibia)

Group phase

Double Action Ladies 3-0 Wanderers LFC

Mamelodi Sundowns 6-0 Lesotho Defence Force

Green Buffaloes 0-2 Black Rhinos

Lesotho Defence Force 1-1 Wanderers

Mamelodi Sundowns 6-0 Double Action Ladies

TURA Magic FC 0-3 Black Rhinos

Lesotho Defence Force 0-6 Double Action Ladies

Mamelodi Sundowns 6-1 Wanderers LFC

Green Buffaloes 1-0 TURA Magic FC


Black Rhinos 2-0 Double Action Ladies

Mamelodi Sundowns 1-0 Green Buffaloes


Black Rhinos 0-3 Mamelodi Sundowns

Awards and stats

Top scorer: Melinda Kgadiete, 5 goals (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Best player of the tournament: Rutendo Makore (Black Rhinos)

Golden Glove: Precious Mudyiwa (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Total goals scored: 42

Average goals per game: 3.5

Most successful attack: Mamelodi Sundowns (22 goals)

ECB vs Vihiga

CECAFA (August 28 to September 9 in Nairobi, Kenya)

Winner: Vihiga Queens (Kenya)

Located in Mbale in the Western region of Kenya, Vihiga Queens won the Kenya Women's League 1 (FKF WPL) in 2017, 2018 and 2019.


8 Participants: Simba Queens (Tanzania), Lady Doves (Uganda), PVP FC (Burundi) and FAD FC (Djibouti), Vihiga Queens FC (Kenya), Commercial Bank of Ethiopia (Ethiopia), Yei Joint Stars (South Sudan) and New Generations (Zanzibar).

Group stage

Lady Doves 5-0 FAD

PVP 1-4 Simba Queens

Yei Joint Stars 2-1 New Generation

Commercial Bank of Ethiopia FC 4-2 Vihiga Queens


Lady Doves 0-0 Simba Queens

Commercial Bank of Ethiopia 10-1 New Generation

Yei Joint Stars 0-11 Vihiga Queens

Lady Doves 3-0 PVP FC

Simba Queens 10-0 FAD

Commercial Bank of Ethiopia 10-0 Yei Joint Stars FC

New Generation 0-8 Vihiga Queens


Simba Queens 1-2 Vihiga Queens

CBE 1-1 (5-3 on pen.) Lady Doves


Vihiga Queens 2-1 CBE

Awards and stats

Top scorer: Loza Abera, 13 goals (CBE)

MVP of the tournament: Jentrix Shikangwa Milimu (Vihiga Queens)

Golden Glove: Daisy Nakaziro (Lady Doves)

Total goals scored: 86

Average goals per game: 5.4

Most successful attack: CBE (25 goals)

Louves Minproff vs Malabo King FC WCL UNIFFAC

UNIFFAC (system of home and away matches played from August 31 to September 12)

Winner: Malabo King FC (Equatorial Guinea)

Winner of the 2019 Equatorial Guinea Women’s League (Primera Division Feminina), President’s Cup and TNO Cup.


4 Participants: FCF Amani (DR Congo), Missile FC (Gabon), Louves Minproff (Cameroon) and Malabo King FC (Equatorial Guinea)

First round:

Malabo King 1-0 Louves Minproff (3-0)

FCF Amani 3-1 FC Missile (0-1)


FCF Amani 0-1 Malabo King FC (1-4)

Awards and Stats

Top scorer: Drepoba Stephanie, 4 goals (Malabo King FC)

Total goals scored: 15

Average goals per game: 2.5

Most successful attack: Malabo King FC (9 goals)

ASFAR Women - Banque de l'Habitat FC

UNAF (July 24-30 in Berkane, Morocco)

Winner: ASFAR (Morocco)

Eight-time winner (2013, 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021) of the Moroccan Women’s League and seven-time winner of the national Cup “Coupe du Trône” (2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019)


3 Participants: Afak Relizane (Algeria), Banque de l'Habitat (Tunisia) and ASFAR (Morocco).

Day 1 : Afak Relizane 3-1 Banque de l'Habitat (Tunisia)

Day 2: ASFAR 4-1 Afak Relizane

Day 3: ASFAR 10-0 Banque de l'Habitat

Awards and stats

Top scorer: Ibtissam Jraidi, 6 goals (ASFAR)

Total goals scored: 19

Average goals per game: 6.3

Most successful attack: ASFAR (14 goals)

HAsaacas rivers angels WAFU B CAF WOMEN CL final

WAFU B (July 24 to August 5 in Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire)

Winner: Hasaacas Ladies FC (Ghana)

Founded in 1996, the club is Four-time Ghanaian League winner (2013, 2014, 2015, 2021), and winner of 2021 Ghana Cup

Other qualified team: Rivers Angels (Nigeria),

Founded in 1986, the club is seven-time winner of Nigeria Women’s League (1994, 2010, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2019, 2021). They are also eight-time champions of the National Cup (2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017 and 2018)


6 Participants: Rivers Angels (Nigeria), Hasaacas Ladies FC (Ghana), Amis du Monde (Togo), USFA (Burkina Faso), AS Police de Niamey (Niger), Onze Sœur (Côte d’Ivoire)

Group stage:

Onze Soeur 0-1 USFA

Rivers Angels 2-0 Hasaacas Ladies

Amis du Monde FC 2-2 Onze Soeur

AS police de Niamey 0-5 Rivers Angels

USFA 2-1 Amis du Monde FC

Hasaacas Ladies 3-0 AS Police


USFA 0-2 Hasaacas Ladies

Rivers Angels 5-1 Amis du Monde FC


Rivers Angels 1-3 Hasaacas Ladies

Awards and Stats

Top scorer: Ezenagu Ogochukwu, 5 goals (Rivers Angels)

Total goals scored: 32

Average goals per game: 3.2

Most successful attack: Rivers Angels (12 goals)

As Mande - Dakar Sacré Coeur

WAFU A (July 24-30 in Sao Vicente, Cape Verde) in league form with round robin matches

Winner: AS Mande (Mali)

The club won the first two editions of the Mali championship (2017 and 2021) and won the Mali Cup four times (2012, 2014, 2015, 2016)


4 Participants: Dakar Sacré-Coeur (Senegal), AS Mande (Mali), Seven Stars (Cape Verde), Determine Girls (Liberia)


Seven Stars 2-2 AS Mande

Determine Girls 1-2 AS Dakar Sacre Cœur

AS Mande 4-0 Determine Girls

AS Dakar Sacre Cœur 2-1 Seven Stars

Seven Stars 0-2 Determine Girls

AS Mande 4-0 AS Dakar Sacre Cœur

Awards and stats

Top scorer: Fatoumata Diarra, 5 goals (AS Mandé)

Total goals scored: 20

Average goals per game: 3.3

Best performing attack: AS Mandé (10 goals)