Beach Soccer AFCON - DR Congo withdraws, schedule revamped

Beach Soccer

A few days before the kick-off of the Beach Soccer Africa Cup of Nations, Senegal 2021, DR Congo has withdrawn from the tournament. Therefore, with reference to the rules of the competition, the tournament will now be played with 7 teams and group A will be composed of Senegal, Uganda and Tanzania.

FECOFA (Fédération Congolaise de Football Association) has confirmed the withdrawal of the Democratic Republic of Congo's national team from the Beach Soccer Africa Cup of Nations.

DR Congo qualified for the final tournament after their opponents, Côte d'Ivoire, withdrew from the qualifiers.

Hence, Group A will be played with three teams only: Senegal, Uganda and Tanzania.

Group B remains unchanged. It includes Egypt, Morocco, Mozambique and Seychelles.

The opening match of the competition will pit Egypt against Mozambique on 23 May. This will be followed by Morocco facing Seychelles. Finally on the opening day, hosts and defending champions Senegal will face debutants Uganda.

The Beach Soccer Africa Cup of Nations takes place from 23 to 29 May 2021 in the commune of Saly, Senegal.

Both finalists will secure their tickets to the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup, Russia 2021.