Host country

Located in West Africa, Côte d'Ivoire covers an area of 322,462 km² with a population of over 28 million inhabitants (RGPH 2021).Independent since August 7, 1960, the country is bordered to the north by Mali and Burkina Faso, to the west by Liberia and Guinea, to the east by Ghana and to the south by the Atlantic Ocean.

Its economy is essentially based on agriculture, especially coffee and cocoa, which ensured a remarkable development from the very first hours of its independence, making it the leading country in the West African sub-region.

Five (5) heads of state have succeeded each other since its independence: Félix Houphouët-Boigny (1960-1993), Henri Konan Bédié (1993-1999), Robert Guéi (1999-2000), Laurent Gbagbo (2000-2010), and Alassane Ouattara since 2011.