South Africa, Nigeria among qualified Nations for the TotalEnergies CAF Women’s Africa Cup of Nations Morocco 2024


·      All 12 teams confirmed for TotalEnergies CAF Women’s Africa Cup of Nations

·      Hosts Morocco, finalists last year, aspire to clinch their maiden title

·      Reigning champions South Africa and 9-time champions Nigeria to headline the show

·      Two major comebacks: three-time finalists Ghana and one-time bronze medalists DR Congo 

·      After record-breaking attendance and audience for Morocco 2022, 2024 edition predictions even higher


The final list of participants is confirmed for next year's TotalEnergies CAF Women's Africa Cup of Nations (WAFCON) in Morocco following dramatic final round of qualifiers on Tuesday.

Nine-time champions Nigeria and hosts Morocco lead an exciting field packed with leading continental heavyweights. 

Joining them are reigning title holders South Africa, three-time finalists Ghana who return after a six-year absence, North African powers Algeria and Tunisia alongside Mali.

DR Congo whose last participation dates back to 2012 join the party while Senegal, giant-killers Zambia, Tanzania and Botswana complete the list of confirmed qualifiers at the Morocco 2024 finals.

Two-time winners Equatorial Guinea were the major casualties alongside four-time finalists Cameroon in the qualifying stages concluded on Tuesday.

With all 12 berths now sealed, anticipation turns towards the draw at a date and venue to be announced later.

The final match of the 2022 Women's Africa Cup of Nations (WAFCON) between Morocco and South Africa set a new record for attendance, with 50,000 fans in attendance. The match was broadcast live in over 45 territories, with coverage available on CAFTV and The upcoming edition of the tournament, which will be hosted by the previous host nation, promises to be an exciting event, with ambitious teams and renowned players set to compete.


Road to the qualifiers

South Africa return seeking to emulate their successful title defence in 2022 which showcased improving pan-African depth. 

Banyana Banyana displayed resilience as Linda Mothlalo and Nicole Michael secured a 2-0 victory over Burkina Faso in a gripping return leg at Pretoria’s Lucas Moripe Stadium on Monday.

Algeria secured a 1-0 win over Burundi, sealing their return to the competition after missing out in 2022. Ines Boutaleb's 17th-minute goal secured their two-legged victory.

1998 Bronze medalists DR Congo secured their place with a 3-2 aggregate victory over Equatorial Guinea on Tuesday, following a 1-1 draw in the first leg.

Botswana earned qualification by defeating Kenya 1-0 at the Botswana National Stadium, advancing 2-1 on aggregate after a 1-1 draw in the first leg.

Nigeria and Zambia qualified with big aggregate score lines to complete the line-up of 12 teams to play at the competition to be held next year.

After landing the hosting rights, Morocco now hope to seize their maiden WAFCON title at the fifth attempt next July and boost women’s football.

Qualified Nations: Morocco (Hosts) Algeria, Botswana, DR Congo, Ghana, Mali, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Tunisia and Zambia



For further inquiries, please contact:

CAF | Communication Department