CAF Women’s Champions League COSAFA Qualifiers to start on Wednesday



The third edition of the CAF Women’s Champions League COSAFA Qualifiers officially gets underway in Durban on Wednesday, 30 August, as eight clubs from the COSAFA region battle it out for a place in this year’s CAF Women’s Champions League.

The tournament, which was won by Zambia’s Green Buffaloes after defeating the then champions, Mamelodi Sundowns will take place between 30 August and 08 September and fans can follow all the action on broadcast channel SuperSport.

In Group A, the defending champions will get their title defense campaign underway with a clash against Botswana’s Double Action Ladies in a 15h30 CAT fixture, with Lesotho Defense Force taking on Ntopwa FC of Malawi in the earlier 12h00 CAT kick off.

Group B will get things underway the following day with Mozambique’s Costa Do Sol taking on Young Buffaloes of Eswatini in the 12h00 CAT Kick-off before former champions, Mamelodi Sundowns takes on Olympic do Sol of Comoros in the 15h30 CAT Kick off.

Sundowns, who won the inaugural CAF Women’s Champions League in a historic triumph in Rabat two years ago recently acquired the services of Banyana Banyana star, Kholosa Biyana.

The 28-year-old Biyana was a key figure in Banyana Banyana’s impressive run in the FIFA Women’s World Cup where they reached the knockout stages along with Nigeria and Morocco – a first for Africa at the global stage.

The former University of Western Cape midfielder will be one of coach Jerry Tshabalala’s crucial players as the former champions look to reclaim both the regional and continental title this season.

Winners of the 10-Day tournament will gain automatic qualification to the CAF Women’s Champions League set for Cote d’Ivoire between 05 – 19 November this year.


CAF Women’s Champions League COSAFA Qualifiers Groups:



Green Buffaloes (Zambia)

Double Action Ladies (Botswana)

Lesotho Defence Force (Lesotho)

Ntopwa FC (Malawi)



Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

Olympic de Moroni (Comoros)

Costa do Sol (Mozambique)
Young Buffaloes (Eswatini) 

The Top two from each group will advance to the semi-finals with the two finalists playing for the single spot reserved for the region at the CAF Women’s Champions League.