Malawi's Chawinga sisters reign supreme in China

Malawi Chawinga sisters reign in China

Tabitha and Temwa Chawinga were the heroines as the Malawian sisters helped Wuhan Jiangda to win the 2021 Chinese Women's Super League title, becoming back-to-back champions of China.

Despite missing from Malawi's Morocco 2022 qualifiers' ouster against Zambia due to travel restrictions, Tabitha and Temwa inspired Wuhan to a 2-1 comeback win over Jiangsu Suning in the final.

Malawi Chawinga sisters reign in China..

In search for glory, Tabitha reunited with her younger sister Temwa at Wuhan in January 2021, after ending her three-season stint with Jiangsu and she went on to clinch her second league title in China at the expense of her former club.

Besides the title celebration, Tabitha finished as the top scorer, with nine goals - scooping her third golden boots in the Chinese topflight, after her previous impressive feats in 2018 and 2019 with 17 and 12 goals respectively.

Malawi Chawinga sisters reign in China.

Her younger sister Temwa also finished second on the scoring chart with seven goals, seeing out her initial two-year contract with Wuhan as a back-to-back Chinese league title winner.

Also, Zambia's Brabra Banda missed out on the title for the second year running with Shanghai Shengli but she was pivotal in their 2-1 victory over Guangdong Meizhou Hakka to claim the bronze medal.

Banda ended the 2021 campaign with four goals and will hope for an improved third year running with the Chinese outfit after she might have led Zambia past Namibia to Morocco 2022 slot next February.

Malawi Chawinga sisters reign in China0

Meanwhile, Nigeria's Chinwendu Ihezuo and Cameroon's Charlene Meyong helped Guangdong to a fourth-place finish in their maiden seasons with the Chinese side, scoring thrice and once respectively.

The duo will now hope to be considered for selections as Nigeria square up with Cote d'Ivoire, while Cameroon take on the Gambia in the decisive round of the qualifiers in February next year.

Photos @CFA (China Football Association)