Mozambique recalls 34 players for Guinea-Bissau and Angola friendlies


Mozambique national team coach Luís Gonçalves announced a list of 34 players that will play two friendlies against Guinea-Bissau and Angola in Portugal next month.

Both matches come as The Mambas are preparing for the resumption of the Total Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers, Cameroon 2021 in November.

Despite the current restrictions imposed by COVID-19 pandemic, Gonçalves said his working group is highly motivated, praising the dedication and support of Mozambique Football Federation (FMF) with the preparations’ plan.

"We know that there are various difficulties, especially that of Covid-19, but we will remain focused on our goals," the Portuguese coach said.

Luis Goncalves..

The Mambas coach regretted not being able to count on some key players due to the impact of Covid-19, but he noted that the friendlies against Guinea-Bissau and Angola will be competitive and will help his team to pull more.

Full Squad

Goalkeepers: José Guirrugo (UD Songo), Júlio Frenque (Ferroviário de Maputo), Victor Guambe (Costa do Sol), Teixeira Nhanombe (Black Bulls)

Defenders: Infren Matola (UD Songo), Fidel Hélder de Sousa (Black Bulls), Bheu António Januário (UD Songo), Zainadine (Marítimo), Sidique Sataca (UD Songo), Salomão Mondlane (Costa do Sol), Edson Sitoe (FC Bordeux), Francisco Simbine (Marítimo), João Mussica (Ferroviário de Maputo), Reinildo Mandava (Lille, France), Edmilson Dove (Cape Town City, South Africa), José Júlio Mauai (Ferroviário de Maputo)

Midfielders: Manuel Kambala (Baroka FC, South Africa), Ricardo Mondlane (AD Sanjoanense, Portugal), Feliciano Jone (Costa do Sol), Paulino Homo “Xirasse” (Black Bulls), Kamo-Kamo Cumbane (Vitória FC, Portugal), Stélio Marcelino (UD Songo), Elias Pelembe (Bidvest Wits, South Africa), Geny Catamo (Sporting, Portugal), Sadamo Guambe (Ferroviário de Maputo)

Forwards: Clésio Bauque (Zira FK, Azerbaijan), Luís Miquissone (Simba FC, Tanzania), Nilton Ernesto (Costa do Sol), Reginaldo Faite (FC Kaysar, Philippines), Stanley Rafito (CFR Pforzheim, Germany), Pachoio Lau Há King (UD Songo), Witiness Quembo (Nacional de Madeira, Portugal), Amâncio Canhemba (Vitória FC, Portugal), Gildo Vilanculos (Amora FC, Portugal)