Star players return to boost Gambia's AFCON chances


Gambia coach Tom Saintfiet has recalled 23 players including Bologna's Musa Barrow for their crucial Total Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers’ double header against Gabon on 12 and 16 November.

The 21-year-old forward missed October's 1-0 friendly victory over Congo due to injury.

Fully fit now, Barrow's return will serve as a boost for the Group D leaders.

Former Swansea and Reading winger Modou Barrow who now plays for South Korean champions Jeonbuk has also been recalled after missing the last international break.

Saintfiet is seeking his first appearance at the continent's flagship jamboree with The Gambia who remain the only West African side without an AFCON appearance.

Experienced keeper Modou Jobe and old campaigner Ebrima Sohna have also returned to the side named by the Belgian.

Lamin Jallow, Bubacarr Trawally, Ablie Jallow, Mohammed Badamosi and Buba Jobe who scored the late equaliser in the 2-2 draw at against DR Congo also return.

The Scorpions are equal on four points with Gabon but lead the group on superior goal difference.

The Match Day 3 game will be played in Franceville on 12 November before both sides meet again in Bakau four days later.

Barrow headlines Gambia squad for Mauritania double-header

Full Squad

Goalkeepers: Modou Jobe (FC Jeddah, Saudi Arabia), Sheikh Sibi (Virtus Verona, Italy), Baboucarr Gaye (Rot Weiss Koblenz, Germany)

Defenders: Pa Modou Jagne (Unattached), Robin Utseth Björnholm-Jatta (Stjördals Blink IL, Norway), Noah Sonko Sundberg (FK Östersunds, Sweden), Omar Colley (Sampdoria, Italy), Buba Sanneh (Anderlecht, Belgium), Mohammed Mbye (IFÖ Brömölla, Sweden)

Midfielders: Sulayman Marreh (KAA Gent, Belgium), Alasana Manneh (Gornik Zabrze, Poland), Ebrima Sohna (FC Mosta, Malta), Sainey Njie (DAC Dunajská Streda, Slovakia), Dawda Ngum (BK Bronshoj, Denmark),

Forwards: Ebrima Colley (Hellas Verona, Italy), Musa Barrow (FC Bologna, Italy), Modou Barrow (Jeonbuk, South Korea), Buba Jobe (Ogryte, Sweden), Lamin Jallow (Vincenza, Italy), Ablie Jallow (RFC Seraing, Belgium), Bubacarr Steve Trawally (Ajman Club, UAE), Assan Ceesay (FC Zürich, Switzerland), Muhammed Badamosi (KV Kortrijk, Belgium)