Namibia name its squad


Namibia head coach Ricardo Mannetti on Monday announced his final 23-man squad for the upcoming Total Africa Cup of Nations.

The most notable omissions are experienced goalkeeper Virgil Vries and defenders Chris Katjiukua, Teberius Lombard.

Clubless Vries was overlooked for African Stars' goal-minder Ratanda Mbazuvara, who has hovered on the fringes of the national team in recent years, while Mannetti opted for the fresh legs of novices Ryan Nyambe of English Championship side Blackburn Rovers and Ivan Kamberipa of African Stars.

Also returning home from the Brave Warriors' camp in Dubai are utility player Benyamen Nenkavu and midfielder Wesley Katjiteo, who had hoped his impressive showing at the recent Cosafa Cup could sway the technical team in his favour.

Mannetti believes

He has selected the right team to represent Namibia at their third AFCON finals were they face Morocco, South Africa and Ivory Coast in the group phase.

He said envisaged tactics, conditioning, performance and attitude during the last two weeks were key aspects for the final selection.

“We feel this team has the right energy, they fit us right for the tactics and will represent Namibia to the best of their abilities. These are the right players with the right work ethic and harmony,” Mannetti said.

The Brave Warriors are in Group D at the 32nd Total AFCON finals and will play Morocco on 23 June before taking on South Africa on 28 June.

Both at Al Salam Stadium in Cairo. Namibia's final group game against Ivory Coast is on 1 July at the Cairo International Stadium.

Final squad:

Ratanda Mbazuvara, Loydt Kazapua, Max Mbaeva, Ryan Nyambe, Larry Horaeb, Denzil Haoseb, Ivan Kamberipa, Charles Hambira, Riaan Hanamub, Ananias Gebhardt, Absalom Iimbondi, Willy Stephanus, Petrus Shitembi, Ronald Ketjijere, Dynamo Fredericks, Marcel Papama, Manfred Starke, Deon Hotto, Itamunua Keimuine, Benson Shilongo, Peter Shalulile, Joslyn Kamatuka and Isaskar Gurirab.